Couples, marriage, Romance

Once Upon a Time, They got Married, Fought Dragons, Paid Bills, and Created Their Happily Ever After

How couples rewrite history and how to make it work in your favor:

Uniting Couples to Strengthen Families

love story

One of my earliest memories is of my mother taking me to the library, where I fell immediately in love.  I looked forward to our weekly trips, where I would gather another collection of story books to take home and peruse for hours.  One of my favorite gifts as a child was a book of fairy tales that I read repeatedly.  As I read the adventurous tales, I felt transported in time and place and imagined interacting with the various characters.  I still remember sitting in front of the mirror at age 6 and wishing that I had hair as “black as ebony,” like Snow White because it seemed so exotic compared to my dirty blonde locks.   I still have an enthusiastic response to stories, which is one reason I love being a therapist.

Every couple who starts marital therapy has a story (or two versions of a story).  One…

View original post 1,075 more words

Leave a Reply

